Coins of 50 Tetri Denominations Issued in 1995 will Lose Legislative Status and Payment Authority

access_time2017-10-05 13:02:33

Georgian coins of 50 tetri denominations issued in 1995 will lose legislative status and payment authority.

According to National Bank of Georgia (NBG), starting January 1, 2018, trade facilities will no longer have obligation to take coins of 50 tetri denominations for the payment purpose.

Change of old 50 tetri denominations will be available in any service centers of commercial banks and cash center of the NBG from 2018, while from January 1, 2019 – merely in cash center of the NBG. (Address: Tbilisi, 0198, Kakheti Highway 72).

Recall that  the National Bank of Georgia issued coins of a new modification in the denominations of 50 in 2006. The new coin is produced with the latest technologies and its quality is significantly improved. The new coin was successfully established in the circulation.

50 tetri denominations issued in 2006 consists of copper-nickel and its diameter is determined by 24 mm, while the weight is 6.5 g. OBVERSE side of the coin features the coat of arms of Georgia surrounded with a symbolic image of sun beams. The legend “Georgia” and the date of issue (2006) are under the coat of arms, while the REVERSE side features the denomination numeral “50” and the legend “Tetri”. Both sides of the coin have a microelement similar to that found on the old Colchian tetri coin – a lion’s head. 


Similar News

TOP-5 most Profitable Banks in Georgia

access_time 2018-03-23 12:39:02

International Bank of Azerbaijan Leaves Georgia

access_time 2018-03-16 13:59:50