The ban applies to four agricultural products – wheat, corn, rapeseed, and sunflower seeds. These are now prohibited from being sold to Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, Romania, and Slovakia. The EC noted that the goal is to eliminate logistical problems related to these goods. The ban will be in effect from May 2 to June 5, 2023.

Import to other EU countries is allowed, as well as transit through the territory of the mentioned five countries. At the same time, Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, and Slovakia promised to cancel their unilateral measures against Ukrainian agricultural products.

The European Commission also confirmed that European farmers will receive financial support. In addition, measures are planned to facilitate the transit of Ukrainian grain through “solidarity routes” to other EU member states and third countries.