For the first time in history, Armenia voted in the United Nations for the resolution of the return of displaced persons in Abkhazia and Tskhinvali region

On June 4, the United Nations General Assembly adopted a resolution reiterating the right of return of all displaced persons and refugees to Georgia’s Abkhazia and Tskhinvali Region/South Ossetia by a vote of 103 in favor, 9 against and 52 abstentions.

In addition to Russia, Belarus, Burundi, Cuba, Mali, Nicaragua, North Korea, Syria and Zimbabwe voted against. The number of “no” votes is 9, like last year, with the same composition of countries, except that Mali joined the “no” vote and Sudan dropped out.

The number of the votes in favor of the resolution increased from 100 to 103 countries compared to last year. Three more countries – Argentina, Armenia and South Africa voted in favor of the resolution this year.

Last year 100 voted in favor, 9 against and 59 abstained.